top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMoonjoey

SELF-TOURISM OF ALLEGED HAUNTED PLACES


Have you heard of the curse of Black Agnes? Just who is Black Agnes? The answer can be found in a certain cemetery in Montpelier, VT, USA, a beautifully unique grave marker (see photo) of a man named John E. Hubbard. Although the statue is known as 'Black Agnes,' it is of a male figure, sitting with a head covering shawl with closed eyes looking upwards. The name of the sculpture is based on another, similar statue (‘Black Aggie’) that adorns the grave of Felix Agnus in Baltimore, MD, USA.

My own personal experience with this legend started with a visit by my wife and I to the Green Mount cemetery, after traveling from Colorado to attend a family function in nearby Williston, VT. Upon entering the imposing entrance to the cemetery (see photo), there are multiple choices of roads to take to travel through. As my wife and I had no idea where the statue was located, we chose at random, one of the roads to begin our search. Astonishingly, we found we had correctly chosen the road that took us directly by the object of our search. This immediately seemed like a curious coincidence.


There it was! It was amazingly alluring! There is a feeling about it, a presence if you will, noticeable no doubt due to subjective impression. Curious engraved writings can be found on both sides. One reads: "APPROACH THY GRAVE LIKE ONE WHO WRAPS THE DRAPERY OF HIS COUCH ABOUT HIM AND LIES DOWN TO PLEASANT DREAMS." The other reads: "THOU GO NOT LIKE THE QUARRY SLAVE AT NIGHT SCOURGED TO HIS DUNGEON BUT SUSTAINED AND SOOTHED BY AN UNFALTERING TRUST." These two inscriptions were taken from "Thanatopsis (meaning 'a consideration of death)," a William Cullen Bryant poem. The full poem interestingly describes putting one's faith in nature vs religion and contains the impactful ideals that all of us shall be joined together in the grave; "we shall die in good company. We shall lie down with "patriarchs . . ., with kings,/ The powerful of the earth, the wise, the good,/ Fair forms, and hoary seers of ages past,/ All in one mighty sepulcher." The dead outnumber the living. The dying man is not alone: "All that breathe/ Will share thy destiny."


I've been in too many cemeteries to keep count, but I have to admit there is that indescribable, extra little "feeling" just standing in this particular spot. Amidst the overcast skies and quiet in the entire cemetery, it's as if you can hear your thoughts aloud, but with the added emphasis that something else is here with you, even if you do not wish to admit it.


For those unfamiliar with the specific details of the legend associated with this grave marker, it is said that those who dare to sit in the lap of Black Agnes at midnight, during a full moon, will suffer a subsequent misfortune. The legend contends that some have been found dead later after challenging the alleged myth. After dark there have been claims of strange noises about the grave, loud screams nearby with no one present, and even the eyes of the statue itself glowing bright red!

Visiting during daylight hours here, I felt a beckoning, subconsciously urging me to sit in the lap of the Black Agnes statue. I thought it silly at first to consider doing so, but after a few minutes, and although my wife wished that I hadn't, I succumbed to the idea and did just that (see photo). So far, I am still here... obviously. I have noticed that on three subsequent nights so far, I've awakened from my sleep and the thought of Black Agnes popped into my brain, leaving as quickly as it came. At this time, I don't know what to make of that. I guess only time will tell.

During our visit to Vermont, we also visited a covered bridge in Stowe, VT, USA (see photo), legendary for being haunted by the ghost of "Emily," who became so distraught from being left standing at the altar for her wedding, she hanged herself from the bridge in despair. I felt no strange feelings at this location, like I had with Black Agnes. I doubt that being there after dark would have made a difference, as it shouldn't, at any alleged haunted location. As my medicine man friend, Omolkhua likes to remind me... "concerning the unseen, time has no meaning." Only the popular ghost TV shows would have you believe the spirits only come out at night! Inside the bridge tunnel we noticed the sweet gesture of a dozen pink roses (see photo) having being left there in Emily's memory.

raveling sometimes provides certain opportunities for paranormal investigators and researchers (how can we resist, right?). During our visit in Vermont, my wife and I stayed at a very secluded-in-the-woods cabin next to a lake, in territory steeped in indigenous folklore such as the "little people." Also, two original cabin owners from years ago are buried right next to the cabin. I did EVP sessions at the graves in the can't-see-your-hand-in-front-of-your-face darkness, but upon subsequent review, no audio anomalies were discovered. My FLIR camera investigation there did contain one curious anomaly I cannot explain. I did not notice it until subsequent video review. I'm not claiming it to be paranormal, but it has the rough appearance of two anthropomorphic figures kneeling side-by-side on their knees (see photo)! During each night, I left outside a PIR motion activated game camera just in case the legendary "little people" were sneaking about. They proved to be quite elusive. Despite negative findings of paranormal evidence about the lake, my wife, who I believe to be a "sensitive," described to me a feeling of sadness permeating the lake and cabin surroundings.

By now you most likely observed that I always travel with certain pieces of audio/video recording equipment in the event an opportunity presents itself for paranormal investigation. But I also carry them to capture the beauty of the surroundings I find myself in. In the end there was nothing proved but nothing debunked. Nonetheless, I enjoyed the excitement and anticipation of my investigative efforts. Of course, if I had used a spirit box or kinect-type camera, I could have had alleged paranormal evidence manufactured for me (sorry, ghost TV shows, I couldn't resist).


- Moonjoey

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

BEWARE THE VEILWALKER

As the debate continues as to the existence of Bigfoot/Sasquatch, I would like to relate a conversation I recently had with a close friend of mine, an avid hunter. This man is 2-tour Iraq & 1-tour Af

Happy Frozen Dead Guy Days!

The famous hotel that inspired Stephen King to write "The Shining," besides hosting ghost tours on its premises, now gives tours of the International Cryonics Museum located there in its Ice House. I

PROVING THE EXISTENCE OF GHOSTS

Numerous first-person stories exist regarding the existence of ghosts. Many credible experiencers can be trusted by those close to them to truthfully recount what they claim to have witnessed. This

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page